What are Different types of Vegetarians


types of vegetarians

There are three main types of Vegetarians:

Lacto-Ovo vegetarian

Ovo vegetarian

Lacto vegetarian(or lactarian)

What is a Lacto Ovo Vegetarian?

A stuffed animal

A Lacto Ovo vegetarian diet contains eggs, dairy products, and the flesh of plant foods. The egg may come from an animal that has been slaughtered or one that lives out its life till natural death. One can also differentiate between Lacto ovo vegetarians who incorporate fish, fowl, and meat in their diets (semi-vegetarian) and those who abstain themselves from them completely.

What is an Ovo Vegetarian?

A close up of cauliflower

An ovo vegetarian diet contains only plant foods but does not exclude eggs. One can however differentiate between ovo vegetarians who incorporate fish, fowl, and meat in their diets (semi-vegetarian) and those who abstain from them completely.

What is a Lacto Vegetarian?

A Lacto vegetarian diet excludes eggs but includes all other types of plant foods including the flesh of plants. The egg may come from an animal that has been slaughtered or one that lives out its life till natural death. One can also differentiate between Lacto vegetarians who incorporate fish, fowl, and meat in their diets (semi-vegetarian) and those who abstain from them completely.

Are there any other kinds of Vegetarians?

There are people whose religious beliefs do not allow them to consume meat but allow the consumption of dairy products and eggs.

There are also ovo-Lacto vegetarians who avoid all forms of animal flesh except for fish. It is important to note that this is not a diet recommended by doctors or nutritionists as it does not contain enough proteins to sustain men during their 30s and 40s.

What are the benefits of being a vegetarian?

A vegetarian diet helps in reducing the incidence of coronaries, heart attacks, strokes, kidney problems etcetera that usually affect people over 65 years of age. A vegetarian can easily control his weight since he doesn’t have too much fat in his diet. He is also less vulnerable to cancer, diabetes, and high blood pressure.

People who consume eggs are likely to have more chances of getting osteoporosis later in life while both Lacto-ovo vegetarians and vegans have lower risks of getting this disease.

How do Vegetarians get their Protein?

It is not true that you need meat to get protein. Other sources include beans, lentils, peas, soy products like tofu or tempeh, nuts, nut butter, seeds, etc. One can get all the essential amino acids from plant foods without eating animal flesh. If you want any further information on this topic there are many sites that provide nutritional facts about different foods based on what exactly you want to eat for the day.

Can you be a vegan and still get all the essential nutrients?

The human body requires proteins, iron, calcium, vitamin D, B12, etc to function properly. It is possible to get these nutrients from plant sources or fortified foods without eating animal flesh or any form of dairy products. However, it may take time for some people’s bodies to adjust but with continued use of supplements till your body gets enough nutrients one can achieve optimum health while being on a Vegan diet. Women during their childbearing years need extra folic acid; doctors advise them to take folic capsules along with their standard prenatal vitamins since they are more likely to suffer from neural tube defects if deficient in folic acid.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter